The Legend of Zelda Concert: Symphony of the Goddesses

zelda 1Maiyumi attended the Legend of Zelda Symphony of the Goddesses on the 17 April 2015, she shares her experience of what is set to be the last year of  performances from the symphony and what was, the only showing in England.

Originally to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Legend of Zelda Games, the symphony is entering its last year of performances, thankfully my partner  and I were lucky enough to purchase tickets to the only showing in England.

The evening started with a meal at Nandos where I could already easily spot other attendees to the symphony, their Legend of Zelda t-shirts, bags and jewellery, clearly on display. When I got inside the hall I even spotted a few people in cosplay, which made me want to wear my own Midna cosplay.

zelda 2As I got to my seat, the big screen was already playing trailers and adverts for recently released (or re-released) Legend of Zelda games, Skyward Sword, Windwaker, Link between Worlds, Ocarina of Time and Majoras Mask.

The audience were first introduced to the musicians and the conductor, followed by a very special message from the creators of the Legend of Zelda games. Then the symphony began, as the music was performed, gameplay footage was played on screen from both new and old  Legend of Zelda games. This was how the majority of the evening ‘played’ out, as a song was performed the screen would show the audience which game it was featured in and the characters involved in that game. Another message from the creators was played on the screen, and then it was intermission time.

zelda 3After a trip to the loo’s and purchasing over priced popcorn, the symphony carried on. Beautiful music was performed with another message from the creators towards the end of the show.

The only criticism I have was the lack of merchandise! My partner who is a huge Legend of Zelda fan came very much prepared to spend a lot of money on mementos. However all they had to offer was one t-shirt design or one poster design, not much variety, especially since the t-shirt only had the one Skull Kid design. No Link, no Navi, no Zelda t-shirts. Which was disappointing.

However, overall there are not many words to describe the show other than fantastic! I really enjoyed the beautiful music which was graciously preformed. It was also nice to see all the attendees in Link hats and ironic Zelda reference t-shirts, it felt like I was on my way to a convention. I would defiantly recommend it, should they decide to do another tour, go see it!

zelda 4

