Cosplayer of the week – Choupett

choupett05This week I interviewed Choupett Cosplay who took the Eurogamer Championships by storm! She discusses how to deal with cosplay bullies and her ambition to be a costume designer.

How long have you been cosplaying for and how did the hobby begin?
I’ve been cosplaying for around 3 years now. It all started with just making small bits a pieces for fancy dress parties or for fun. I was already a fan of games, films, tv series and comics (and was neck deep in fandom) A friend at the time mentioned cosplay, which I’d heard about on the internet, and I just went from there really.

choupett01What is your favourite cosplay and why?
My favourite is probably Lara Croft. Tomb Raider was the first game I played back in ’96 on the PlayStation 1. Not only do I love the nature of the game and storylines, I love Lara herself. She was a great role model for me growing up. Besides that, the costume is fun to wear and comfortable! Makes a nice change to costumes with high heels and painful armour or corsets.

What inspires you to choose your next cosplay?
Usually whatever I’m into at the time. I just finished watching Game of Thrones so I’m making Daenerys Targaryen costume. I’m currently playing Diablo 3 so I made The Barbarian. I think its so important to bond with the character first and know who they are.

What future cosplays can we expect to see from you?
I will be attending Kitacon 2014 hopefully with The Wizard from Diablo. I want to show off more of my craftsmanship, and I feel this costume covers all bases; armour, tailoring, corsetry, embroidery and prop making. Other than that, the long awaited Jessica Rabbit should make an appearance at least once next year, I’ve promised myself! I’m also really looking forward to doing a Disney generbend/costume swap group, where all the Princesses are wearing the Prince’s outfits.

choupett02You won the Eurogamer championships with your Barbarian from Diablo lll. Why did you choose this and what was the most challenging part of this cosplay?
I chose it firstly, for the love of the game and character, secondly, because I wanted to make the armour. It was so hard, much harder than I thought. It took over 100 hours and over £100. It was  great learning experience for me though and I hope I can wear it again sometime soon.

When you’re not cosplaying or at a convention what can we find you doing?
I attend university most days where I study costume. If I’m at home I’m usually cosplay making, spending time with my family and dog, at the cinema or playing games. You know, the geeky stuff.

choupett 03I understand you are interested in costume design, has cosplaying helped you develop this?
Yes! Definitely. I want to be a costume designer, and cosplaying has helped me learn so much. Even though I study costume design and fabrication, cosplay has challenged me so much more in terms of working with a budget and trying new things.

Are your family supportive of your cosplay, do they ever get involved?
They’re all very supportive. I think they realize it makes me happy so they’re fine with it. I have two younger brothers who love to come to conventions and cosplay too. Hopefully we can cosplay The Incredibles together soon!

What are your opinions towards ‘sexy cosplays’?
My opinion doesn’t matter. ‘Sexy’ is subjective. People should do what they want and not be ridiculed for it. If you’re having fun then wear whatever the hell you like.

choupett04Have you ever experienced cosplay bullying online or offline? If so, how you do you deal with this?
Yes and yes. I get awful and horrible comments/messages on a daily basis. Its really hard not to let it get to you, but I think its important to remember that whatever they say, and whoever is saying it, is irrelevant. It’s a cliché thing to say, but it’s just plain jealousy. They’re taking time out of their day to be horrible to you, and that’s so deeply sad. The only reason someone comments on a flaw is because they cant think of anything else bad to say.  The cosplay community is so supportive, so if you are being harassed at a convention or online, tell someone. They will feel the wrath of hell, I can assure you of that.

Where do you hope the cosplay community will be in five years time?
I just want everyone to continue doing what they love, for the sheer love of it.

See more of Choupett’s work on Facebook Choupett Cosplay and follow her on Twitter @_Choupett

Photo credits Main Image – Sonesh Joshi Photography edit by To Heaven or Hell, The Barbarian – Shinigami Photography, Babydoll – Cosplay Fever edit by Paul Elder Design, Jennifer Anne Paxton – Kamil Kurylonek

