Cosplayer of the week – Dr Dark

jack stanbridgeI caught up with new cosplayer on the block the villainous Dr.Dark, who is looking to take the cosplay community by storm and with his passion, energy and determination he might just succeed!

How long have you been cosplaying for and how did the hobby begin?
I’ve been cosplaying for two and half years and it all started when I saw other people cosplaying, when I saw them do it, I thought to myself “If they can do it then so can I” so that’s how my hobby of cosplaying began!

What cosplays are you most know for?
The cosplays that I’m most known for are Hazama from BlazBlue and Len Kagamine from Vocaloid. I would say my Len cosplay is more noticeable than my Hazama cosplay, but that’s just me.

dr dark image 4Most of your cosplays are villainous, why is this?
Well I guess you can say I have a unique taste for dressing up as the villains. I mean when I first saw Hazama, he looked so awesome and so evil that I couldn’t help but cosplay as him. I even do his voice which is quite fun to do.

What future cosplays can we expect to see from you – any heroes?
Well I highly doubt you’re gonna see me cosplay as a hero, but if I find one worthy of cosplaying, then I’ll do it. For now my future cosplays are, and currently getting: Kisshu (Tokyo Mew Mew), Amane Nishiki (BlazBlue), Arakune (BlazBlue) and Lord Ghriham (LoZ Skyward Sword),  Zoroark (Pokémon) and Akuma (Street Fighter)

At the moment you currently commission your cosplays, what are your sowing skills like? Would you ever try and create your own?
To be honest, I’ve never sowed in my life. I not quite sure if I really wanna do it so I’m gonna play safe and not do it. I think I’ll stick to commissions for the time being!

blog273Have you ever faced negativity from others because you have not made your own cosplay?
None at all. I have yet to see one come up to me and say anything negative about my cosplays.

Some people are concerned about the growing increases of ‘cosplay bullying’. Have you ever personally experienced this? What advice would you give to those who have?
Well not really no. I’ve never experienced it before in my life. My advice would be for those who do experience it: Don’t let these people get you down. You have the right to cosplay any character you like, no matter what you are. You are better than those bullies and don’t let them get you down.

What made you want to start your own Facebook cosplay page?
I saw my other friends on Facebook do their own cosplay pages. During the end of 2012, I decided that I would make my own, so I named my page: DrDark7 and started it in 2013. So far right I only have around 26 likes.

What do you aim to achieve from this page?
I hope to get more likes from people and to spread my love of cosplays and hobbies to everyone throughout the world. To be one of them.

dr dark image 2Is there another cosplayer you admire and why?
There is one cosplayer that I do admire, Mashashy.I really like her outgoing personality and her marketing skills are just incredible.

Some people will remember your performance at London Anime Convention, is singing and dancing another hobby of yours?
Yes, singing and dancing is another hobby of mine and I’m proud of that. There is one other hobby that I do and that’s role-play and voice acting. I like doing the character’s voices and mimicking their personality.

Can we expect to see any future performances from you?
At London Film and Comic Con me and my friend, are gonna do a Tokyo Mew Mew skit, this will be my first time acting. At London Anime Con 7, I will be in the talent show, I might be singing or dancing on this one, you’re just have to watch to find out!

Whenever I see you are full of beans, where do you get your energy!?
I get it from all of you people. You are the reason that keeps me going. Seeing you people go out there and do your thing makes me feel pumped and ready.

dr dark image 5You also took part in baka no game show, what was the most challenging part of this? Can we expect to see you partake again?
The chilli sandwich hands down. I’ll never forget the moment I had to eat that. Will I take part again? Well  you’re just gonna have to wait and see!

What advice would you give a first time cosplayer con-goer?
My advice would be don’t hesitate to cosplay as your favourite character. You want to be your favourite character, go on ahead and do it. No one’s stopping you!

Keep updated with all of Dr.Dark’s cosplays via https://www.facebook.com/DrDark7?fref=ts

Photo Credits – Main image by Harriett Greene

