Cosplayer of the week – Ben Hoyle

Ben hoyle michael clarke

Ben Hoyle, by day a comic lover most known for his Green Lantern and other comic related cosplays however by night, Ben transforms into a zombie – ready to scare con-goers!

How did you first get involved in cosplay and conventions?
I went to the MCM Expo in London, I saw people in costumes and it got me interested!

ben and estiYou are most recognised for your Green Lantern cosplay, is there a reason you cosplay this character? 
Green Lantern is my favourite character but it’s not Hal Jordan, Kyle Rayner! He is the Green Lantern I cosplay as I like his attitude and the way he portrayed in the comic books. The first comic I read was blackest night Green Lantern Corps by Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason.

What inspires you to choose your next cosplay?
It has to be a character that can I portray well; If I like the game, comic or something that I’ve wanted to do since I got in to cosplay.

What future cosplay have you got planned?
At the moment Dr.Doom from Marvel comics, Gears of War COG, A cat from the musical show Cats and Batman.

What are the biggest challenges you face when making your cosplay?
I make and commission parts of my cosplay, but the most important and challenging part for me is that I get every single piece of detail done accurately.

ben hoyle 3When you’re not cosplaying or at a convention what can we find you doing?
My Family owns a foundry in Hackney, It’s been in my family name since the 1880s, I’m the 5th Generation and I’m learning to run it someday! My hobbies are playing games, reading, walking my dogs and going out in to London to see friends.

Do you find being in cosplay gives you more confidence? Why?
Yes there’s no better feeling when you have put a cosplay/costume together 100% and showing off to people that respect and like your work.

There is the growing concern of ‘cosplay bully’ have you experienced this? What advice would you give someone who had experienced cosplay bullying?
I have not experienced this myself, but what I would say if you have; are they big enough to say that to your face? Are they worth your time? If it keeps going on than inform someone to sort it out for you, do not keep it to yourself, or you might do something silly.

ben hoyle 7What are your feelings towards ‘sexy cosplays’? 
There is a very fine line to this, if you want to cosplay, you are portraying that character, so ask yourself ‘would my character wear a dress like that?’ or ‘would they pose with their hips out in that way?’ I do think it’s important that if people cosplay, it’s for the right reasons and not just to show off their body for attention.

Do you see your cosplay as purely a hobby or something you could pursue a career in?
Cosplay is and always will be a hobby for me.

You are a member of non-profit organisation, Heroes Alliance, what do you do and how did you get involved in this?
I met a few of the members at London Film Comic Con and they gave me one of their cards. We raise money for the Make a Wish Foundation by wearing our cosplay at events.

You work as a Zombie at MCM, did you have to have any serious zombie training to get the part?
No not really, the best thing about Zombie cosplays is there are so many styles to do, from a slow walker to quick and noisy. If you are going to cosplay as a zombie remember to choose one that you like!

ben hoyle 5 resurrection comicsWhat advice would you give a first time con-goer at a convention? 
If you want to get involved in conventions, three things:
1.Remember your manners.
2.Respect of peoples personal space.
3. Find a group or page on social web sites,  a popular one on Facebook is “ukcosplay.”

Photo Credits: Green Lantern Image –Michael Clarke Fantastic 4 –Resurrection Comics Zombie Image – Arthur Szyszko

.